What I did. Upper Body Workout Routines.

My workout partner and favorite cousin, after a grueling workout.

My workout partner and favorite cousin, after a grueling workout.

You’ve made the decision to live a healthier life! That’s great. Let’s start out with eating right. Below are various diets based on your goal.

Before I started putting on muscle, I did a ton of cardio for a good three months. Most of this was performed on an elliptical, I didn’t run at this point in my life. I also did not have a high protein diet. I shredded any body fat that would possibly get in the way of my gains. I wanted to have a clear understanding of where and what I was gaining.

Once I had eliminated the majority of excess body fat. I jumped right into a serious workout regimen. I asked myself, “who would I enjoy looking like?”  First name that came to my mind was Arnold. I altered Arnold Schwarzenegger’s routine to my abilities. He did huge weight and high reps. I did not have that kind of strength. I figured I’d keep the high reps and do what weight I could. After years of mixing up his workout, I found this to be beneficial

Chest & Back:

  • 20 Chin-ups
  • Incline Bench Press 2-3 sets; 10, 8, 6, 4
  • Flat Bench Press 2-3 sets; 10, 8, 6, 4
  • Decline Bench Press 2-3 sets; 10, 8, 6, 4
  • Dumbbell Flyes 2-3 sets; 10, 8, 6,4
  • Lat Pull Down 1-2 sets; 10,8,6,4
  • Lat Row 1-2 sets; 8,6,4,2
  • Finish with abdominal Workout

Arms:

  • Standing EZ Bar Curl 2-3 sets; 8,6,4,2
  • Reverse Preacher Curl 1-3 sets; 8,6,4,2
  • Zottman Curl 2-3 sets; 8,6,4,2
  • 20 Pullups
  • Dips 2-3 sets, Until failure
  • Concentration Curls 1-3 sets; 8,6,4,2
  • Finish with abdominal workout

Gaining Muscle 

If you want more muscle. YOU HAVE TO EAT CORRECTLY. Losing or gaining weight all revolves around your diet and activity level. To gain muscle, protein is an essential nutrient that you must supply your body. You must eat enough carbohydrates, they provide the necessary fuel for your muscles during grueling exercise sessions.

Formulas for muscle gain

  • Maintaining Muscle: daily intake of 0.5-1.0grams of protein per lb you weigh
  • Building Muscle: daily intake of 1-1.5 grams of protein per lb you weigh

160 lbs x 1.5grams = 240 grams of protein per day.

If you are starting out, slowly begin to feed your body more protein through a gradual increase over the course of a couple of days. I would not jump into doing a daily intake of 1.5grams per day. Your body won’t be able to use that much in the early stages. You must first build up the muscle and the nutritional requirements to effectively utilize those amounts.

Gaining Definition

Getting those beach ready abs isn’t all that hard. This requires a focus on your diet. Losing the fat over your abdominal area is the first step. When you lose fat, your body will begin shedding it in various places. Here’s one of the rough truths of life, your abs are the very last place your body will turn to when getting rid of fat. This means, you’re going to have to lose it in other places before you lose the subcutaneous fat on your stomach. Don’t misunderstand this, your tummy will shrink as you lose weight. However, to get the magazine look, you have to be serious about your eating habits.

Here is what worked for me and what I eat to get defined.

I ate and still eat mostly cereal, deli sandwiches, fruits, and whole grains. It’s a bland diet.

  • Calories: 2,500
  • Carbs: 200-250 g
  • Fat: 20g or less

I would run three times a week for a minimum of 20 minutes. The main goal was to run three miles each run, totaling 9 miles a week. I would typically run on days that I performed an arm or leg workout.

Leave a Reply

